

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 449 of 2008

# COUNTY OF SOUTH TIPPERARY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

(Prn. A8/1725)

#### COUNTY OF SOUTH TIPPERARY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

1. This order may be cited as the County of South Tipperary Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.

2. (1) The County of South Tipperary shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of South Tipperary County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to a borough, town or electoral division shall be construed as referring to such borough, town or electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.

4. The County of Tipperary (South Riding) Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 288 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

### SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Cahir	The electoral divisions of Ardfinnan, Ballybacon, Ballyporeen, Burncourt, Caher, Clogheen, Coolagarranroe, Derrygrath, Kilcommon, Kilcoran, Killadriffe, Knockgraffon, Mortlestown, Newcastle, Tubbrid, Tullaghorton.	4
Cashel	The town of Cashel and the electoral divisions of Ardmayle, Ardsallagh, Ballygriffin, Ballysheehan, Cashel Rural, Clogher, Clonoulty East, Clonoulty West, Gaile, Greystown, Killeenasteena, Kilpatrick, Magorban, Nodstown, Oughterleague, Tullamain.	4
Clonmel	The borough of Clonmel and the electoral divisions of Ballyclerahan, Clonmel Rural, Colman, Graigue, Inishlounaght, Kilcash, Killaloan, Kilsheelan, Kiltinan, Lisronagh, Tullaghmelan.	7
Fethard	The town of Carrick-on-Suir and the electoral divisions of Anner, Ballingarry, Ballyphilip, Buolick, Carrick-on-Suir Rural, Cloneen, Cooleagh, Crohane, Drangan, Farranrory, Fennor, Fethard, Garrangibbon, Kilcooly, Killenaule, Kilmurry, Kilvemnon, Modeshil, Mullinahone, New Birmingham, Newtown, Peppardstown, Poyntstown.	6
Tipperary	The town of Tipperary and the electoral divisions of Ballycarron, Ballykisteen, Bansha, Bruis, Cappagh, Clonbeg, Cullen, Curraheen, Donohill, Drumwood, Emly, Glengar, Golden, Kilfeakle, Kilmucklin, Lattin, Rathlynin, Rodus, Shronell, Solloghodbeg, Templeneiry, Thomastown, Tipperary Rural.	5

4 **[449]** 



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

**[449]** 5

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the County of South Tipperary into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of South Tipperary County Council to be elected for each such area. BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B26394). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.