

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 178 of 2009

OIREACHTAS (ALLOWANCES) (CERTAIN MINISTERS OF STATE AND CHAIRPERSONS OF OIREACHTAS SUB-COMMITTEES) ORDER 2009

OIREACHTAS (ALLOWANCES) (CERTAIN MINISTERS OF STATE AND CHAIRPERSONS OF OIREACHTAS SUB-COMMITTEES) ORDER 2009

The Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on them by sections 3A (inserted by section 40 of the Ministerial, Parliamentary and Judicial Offices and Oireachtas Members (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2001 (No. 33 of 2001) ("Act of 2001")) 4, and 8 (as amended by section 43 of the Act of 2001) of the Oireachtas (Allowances to Members) and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Act 1998 (No. 5 of 1998), hereby order as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Oireachtas (Allowances) (Certain Ministers of State and Chairpersons of Oireachtas Sub-Committees) Order 2009.
 - 2. There is payable to—
 - (a) Pat Carey, Minister of State at the Department of the Taoiseach and at the Department of Defence, and
 - (b) Barry Andrews, Minister of State at the Department of Health and Children, at the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform and at the Department of Education and Science,

as the holders of those offices, respectively, who regularly attend meetings of the Government, an annual allowance each at the rate of €19,058, for any period beginning on or after 7 May 2008.

- 3. There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who holds or held the position of chairperson of an Oireachtas sub-committee, specified in column (2) of the Schedule at any reference number, an annual allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, at the rate specified in column (3) of that Schedule opposite that reference number, in respect of any period, beginning on or after 13 February 2008, during which the member held that position.
- 4. Articles 5 and 7 of and Part 2 of Schedule 2 to the Oireachtas (Allowances and Allocations) (Members and Holders of Parliamentary and Certain Ministerial Offices) Order 2008 (S.I. No. 56 of 2008) are revoked.

[178] 3

SCHEDULE Article 3.

Rates of annual allowances payable to chairpersons of specified Oireachtas sub-committees.

Reference number	Oireachtas sub-committee	Rate of annual allowance
(1)	(2)	(3)
1.	The Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs	25.221
2.	- sub-Committee on Overseas Development The Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs	€6,224
2.	- sub-Committee on Human Rights	€6,224
3.	The Joint Committee on Health and Children	
4.	- sub-Committee on the High Level of Suicide in Ireland The Committee on Procedures and Privileges of Dáil	€6,224
4.	Éireann	
	- sub-Committee on Dáil Reform	€6,224



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Government, 5 May 2009

BRIAN COWEN. Taoiseach.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 094 - 9378964 nó 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 094 - 9378964 or 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.

€1.27

