

# STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 453 of 2009

IMMIGRATION ACT 2004 (VISAS) (NO. 2) ORDER 2009

(Prn. A9/1667)

#### IMMIGRATION ACT 2004 (VISAS) (NO. 2) ORDER 2009

I, DERMOT AHERN, Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 17 of the Immigration Act 2004 (No. 1 of 2004), hereby order as follows:

1. (1) This Order may be cited as the Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) (No. 2) Order 2009.

(2) This Order comes into operation on 1 January 2010.

2. In this Order—

"Convention travel document" means a travel document issued in accordance with Article 28 of the Geneva Convention;

"Geneva Convention" has the meaning assigned to it by the Refugee Act 1996 (No. 17 of 1996);

"permanent residence card" has the meaning assigned to it by the Regulations of 2006;

"residence card" has the meaning assigned to it by the Regulations of 2006;

"Regulations of 2006" means the European Communities (Free Movement of Persons) (No. 2) Regulations 2006 (S.I. No. 656 of 2006).

3. It is hereby declared that the following classes of non-nationals are specified as classes, the members of which are not required to be in possession of a valid Irish visa when landing in the State:

- (a) nationals of a state or territorial entity specified in Schedule 1;
- (b) non-nationals who are holders of—
  - (i) a valid Convention travel document issued by Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, or Switzerland and where the intended purpose of the travel to the State by the holder of such a travel document is solely for a visit of up to a maximum period of 3 months,
  - (ii) a valid permanent residence card issued under Regulation 16 of the Regulations of 2006, or

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 27th November, 2009. (iii) a valid residence card issued under Regulation 7 of the Regulations of 2006.

4. It is hereby declared that the classes of non-nationals specified in Schedule 2 are specified as classes, the members of which are required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when arriving at a port in the State for purposes of passing through the port in order to travel to another state.

5. The Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) Order 2009 (S.I. No. 239 of 2009) is revoked.

Article 3.

## SCHEDULE 1

# Classes of non-nationals not required to be in possession of a valid Irish visa when landing in the State

Andorra	Guatemala	Poland
Antigua & Barbuda	Guyana	Portugal
Argentina	Honduras	Romania
Australia	Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region)	Saint Kitts & Nevis
Austria	Hungary	Saint Lucia
Bahamas	Iceland	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
Barbados	Israel	Samoa
Belgium	Italy	San Marino
Belize	Japan	Seychelles
Bolivia	Kiribati	Singapore
Botswana	Latvia	Slovak Republic
Brazil	Lesotho	Slovenia
Brunei	Liechtenstein	Solomon Islands
Bulgaria	Lithuania	South Africa
Canada	Luxembourg	South Korea
Chile	Macau (Special Administrative Region)	Spain
Costa Rica	Malawi	Swaziland
Croatia	Malaysia	Sweden
Cyprus	Maldives	Switzerland
Czech Republic	Malta	Taiwan
Denmark	Mexico	Tonga
Dominica	Monaco	Trinidad & Tobago
El Salvador	Nauru	Tuvalu
Estonia	Netherlands	United Kingdom & Colonies
Fiji	New Zealand	United States of America
Finland	Nicaragua	Uruguay
France	Norway	Vanuatu
Germany	Panama	Vatican City
Greece	Paraguay	Venezuela
Grenada		

## **[453]** 5

### SCHEDULE 2

Article 4.

## Classes of non-nationals required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when arriving at a port in the State for purposes of passing through the port in order to travel to another state

Afghanistan	Ghana	Nigeria
Albania	Iran	Serbia
Cuba	Iraq	Somalia
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Lebanon	Sri Lanka
Eritrea	Moldova	Zimbabwe
Ethiopia	Montenegro	



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 16 November 2009.

DERMOT AHERN,

Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform.

#### 6 **[453]**

## EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

This Order specifies the classes of non-nationals who are exempt from Irish visa requirements and those who are required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when transiting within a port within the State. The principal change effected by the Order is that nationals of Mauritius are, from 1 January 2010, subject to an Irish visa requirement.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 094 - 9378964 nó 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 094 - 9378964 or 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B27195). 305. 11/09. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.