

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 66 of 2014

COUNTY OF TIPPERARY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

COUNTY OF TIPPERARY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Tipperary Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The County of Tipperary shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Tipperary County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Tipperary shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
 - (a) the Borough District of Clonmel consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Clonmel;
 - (b) the Municipal District of Carrick-on-Suir consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Carrick-on-Suir;
 - (c) the Municipal District of Cashel-Tipperary consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Cashel-Tipperary;
 - (d) the Municipal District of Nenagh consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Nenagh;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th February, 2014.

- (e) the Municipal District of Templemore-Thurles consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Templemore-Thurles.
- 5. The County of North Tipperary Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 448 of 2008) and the County of South Tipperary Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. 449 of 2008) are revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Carrick-on-Suir	The electoral divisions of Anner, Ardsallagh, Ballingarry (in the former Rural District of Slieveardagh), Ballyphilip, Ballysheehan, Carrick-on-Suir Rural, Carrick-on-Suir Urban, Carrickbeg Urban, Cloneen, Colman, Cooleagh, Crohane, Drangan, Farranrory, Fethard, Garrangibbon, Graystown, Kilcash, Killenaule, Kilmurry, Kiltinan, Kilvemnon, Magorban, Modeshil, Mullinahone, New Birmingham, Newtown, Peppardstown, Poyntstown, Tullamain.	6
Cashel — Tipperary	The electoral divisions of Ardmayle, Ballycarron, Ballygriffin, Ballykisteen, Bansha, Bruis, Cappagh, Cashel Rural, Cashel Urban, Clonbeg, Clonoulty East, Clonoulty West, Cullen, Curraheen, Donohill, Drumwood, Emly, Glengar, Golden, Kilfeakle, Killeenasteena, Kilmucklin, Kilpatrick, Lattin, Nodstown, Oughterleague, Rathlynin, Rodus, Shronell, Solloghodbeg, Templeneiry, Thomastown, Tipperary East Urban, Tipperary Rural, Tipperary West Urban.	7
Clonmel	The electoral divisions of Ardfinnan, Ballybacon, Ballyclerahan, Ballyporeen, Burncourt, Caher, Clogheen, Clonmel East Urban, Clonmel Rural, Clonmel West Urban, Coolagarranroe, Derrygrath, Graigue (in the former Rural District of Cashel), Inishlounaght, Kilcommon, Kilcoran, Killadriffe, Killaloan, Kilsheelan, Knockgraffon, Lisronagh, Mortlestown, Newcastle, Tubbrid, Tullaghmelan, Tullaghorton.	9
Nenagh	The electoral divisions of Abington, Aglishcloghane, Ardcrony, Ballina, Ballingarry (in the former Rural District of Borrisokane), Ballygibbon, Ballylusky, Ballymackey, Ballynaclogh, Birdhill, Borrisokane, Burgesbeg, Carrig, Carrigatogher, Castletown, Cloghjordan, Cloghprior, Clohaskin, Derrycastle, Dolla, Finnoe, Foilnaman, Graigue (in the former Rural District of Borrisokane), Greenhall, Kilbarron, Kilcomenty, Kilkeary, Killoscully, Kilmore, Kilnaneave, Kilnarath, Knigh, Lackagh, Latteragh, Lorrha East, Lorrha West, Mertonhall, Monsea, Nenagh East Urban, Nenagh Rural, Nenagh West Urban, Newport, Rathcabban, Redwood, Riverstown, Templederry, Terryglass, Uskane, Youghalarra.	9
Templemore — Thurles	The electoral divisions of Aghnameadle, Ballycahill, Ballymurreen, Borrisnafarney, Borrisnoe, Borrisoleigh, Bourney East, Bourney West, Buolick, Clogher, Drom, Fennor, Gaile, Glenkeen, Gortkelly, Holycross, Inch, Kilcooly, Killavinoge, Killea, Kilrush, Littleton, Longfordpass, Loughmore, Moyaliff, Moycarky, Moyne, Rahelty, Rathnaveoge, Roscrea, Templemore, Templetouhy, Thurles Rural, Thurles Urban, Timoney, Two-Mile-Borris, Upperchurch.	9



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to divide the County of Tipperary into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Tipperary County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Tipperary.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B30349). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.