

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 139 of 2015

ROAD TRAFFIC (CO-ORDINATION OF ROADWORKS) REGULATIONS 2015

S.I. No. 139 of 2015

ROAD TRAFFIC (CO-ORDINATION OF ROADWORKS) REGULATIONS 2015

- I, PASCHAL DONOHOE, Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by sections 5 and 101D (6) (inserted by section 9 of the Dublin Transport Authority (Dissolution) Act 1987 (No. 34 of 1987)) of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (No. 24 of 1961) (as adapted by the Transport (Alteration of Name of Department and Title of Minister) Order 2011 (S.I. No. 141 of 2011), hereby make the following regulations:
- 1. These Regulations may be cited as the Road Traffic (Co-ordination of Roadworks) Regulations 2015.
 - 2. In these Regulations—
- "Carlow County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Carlow;
- "Cavan County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Cavan;
- "Clare County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Clare;
- "Cork City Council" means the council of the administrative city of Cork;
- "Cork County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Cork;
- "Donegal County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Donegal;
- "Dublin City Council" means the council of the administrative city of Dublin;
- "Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown;
- "Fingal County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Fingal;
- "Galway City Council" means the council of the administrative city of Galway;
- "Galway County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Galway;
- "Kerry County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Kerry;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 24th April, 2015.

- "Kildare County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Kildare;
- "Kilkenny County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Kilkenny;
- "Laois County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Laois;
- "Leitrim County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Leitrim;
- "Limerick City and County Council" means the council of the administrative city and county of Limerick;
- "Longford County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Longford;
- "Louth County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Louth;
- "Mayo County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Mayo;
- "Meath County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Meath:
- "Monaghan County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Monaghan;
- "Offaly County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Offaly;
- "Roscommon County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Roscommon;
- "Sligo County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Sligo;
- "South Dublin County Council" means the council of the administrative county of South Dublin;
- "Tipperary County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Tipperary;
- "Waterford City and County Council" means the council of the administrative city and county of Waterford;
- "Westmeath County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Westmeath;
- "Wexford County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Wexford;

4 [139]

"Wicklow County Council" means the council of the administrative county of Wicklow.

- 3. The councils specified in the Schedule are prescribed as local authorities for the purposes of section 101D (inserted by section 9 of the Dublin Transport Authority (Dissolution) Act 1987 (No. 34 of 1987)) of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (No. 24 of 1961) and may perform their functions under that section in their administrative areas.
- 4. The Road Traffic (Co-ordination of Roadworks) Regulations 1992 (S.I. No. 323 of 1992) are revoked.

Councils prescribed as local authorities

Schedule

Reference Number (1)	Local Authorities (2)
1.	Carlow County Council
2.	Cavan County Council
3.	Clare County Council
4.	Cork City Council
5.	Cork County Council
6.	Donegal County Council
7.	Dublin City Council
8.	Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council
9.	Fingal County Council
10.	Galway City Council
11.	Galway County Council
12.	Kerry County Council
13.	Kildare County Council
14.	Kilkenny County Council
15.	Laois County Council
16.	Leitrim County Council
17.	Limerick City and County Council
18.	Longford County Council
19.	Louth County Council
20.	Mayo County Council
21.	Meath County Council
22.	Monaghan County Council
23.	Offaly County Council
24.	Roscommon County Council
25.	Sligo County Council
26.	South Dublin County Council
27.	Tipperary County Council
28.	Waterford City and County Council
29.	Westmeath County Council
30.	Wexford County Council
31.	Wicklow County Council

GIVEN under my Official Seal, 17 April 2015.

PASCHAL DONOHOE,
Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The purpose of these Regulations is to designate the following county and city councils as local authorities for the purposes of section 101D of the Road Traffic Act, 1961 (as inserted by section 9 of the Dublin Transport Authority (Dissolution) Act, 1987):-

Carlow County Council, Cavan County Council, Clare County Council, Cork City Council, Cork County Council, Donegal County Council, Dublin City Council, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Fingal County Council, Galway City Council, Galway County Council, Kerry County Council, Kildare County Council, Kilkenny County Council, Laois County Council, Leitrim County Council, Limerick City and County Council, Longford County Council, Louth County Council, Mayo County Council, Meath County Council, Monaghan County Council, Tipperary County Council, Offaly County Council, Roscommon County Council, Sligo County Council, South Dublin County Council, Waterford City and County Council, Westmeath County Council, Wexford County Council, Wicklow County Council.

This will enable these local authorities to exercise functions under section 101D and in particular to issue directions to persons undertaking roadworks on public roads in their functional areas in relation to such matters as timing of roadworks and the manner in which roadworks are carried out.

These regulations revoke the Road Traffic (Co-ordination of Roadworks) Regulations, 1992 (S.I. 323 of 1992).

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54

