

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 618 of 2018

COUNTY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

S.I. No. 618 of 2018

COUNTY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Galway Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of Galway shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Galway County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Galway shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
 - (a) The Municipal District of Ballinasloe consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ballinasloe;
 - (b) The Municipal District of Conamara consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Conamara North and the Local Electoral Area of Conamara South;
 - (c) The Municipal District of Loughrea consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Loughrea and the Local Electoral Area of Gort Kinvara;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

- (d) The Municipal District of Athenry consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Athenry-Oranmore;
- (e) The Municipal District of Tuam consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Tuam.
- 5. The County of Galway Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 50 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Athenry- Oranmore	The electoral divisions of Abbey East, An Carn Mór, Athenry, Aughrim (in the former Rural District of Galway), Baile an Teampaill, Baile Chláir, Belleville, Cappalusk, Ceathrú an Bhrúnaigh, Cloonkeen (in the former Rural District of Loughrea), Deerpark, Eanach Dhúin, Graigabbey, Greethill, Killimor (in the former Rural District of Loughrea), Leacach Beag, Liscananaun, Lisín an Bhealaigh, Monivea, Oranmore, Ryehill, Stradbally and Tiaquin.	7
Ballinasloe	The electoral divisions of Ahascragh, Annagh, Aughrim (in the former Rural District of Ballinasloe), Ballinasloe Rural, Ballinasloe Urban, Ballinastack, Ballymacward, Ballymoe, Ballynakill (in the former Rural District of Glenamaddy), Ballynakill (in the former Rural District of Mountbellew), Boyounagh, Caltra, Castleblakeney, Castleffrench, Clonbrock, Clonfert, Clontuskert, Cloonkeen (in the former Rural District of Mountbellew), Cloonkeen (in the former Rural District of Tuam), Colmanstown, Cooloo, Creggs, Curraghmore, Derryglassaun, Glennamaddy, Island, Kellysgrove, Kilconnell, Kilcroan, Killaan, Killallaghtan, Killeroran, Killian, Killure, Kilmacshane, Kiltullagh (in the former Rural District of Glenamaddy), Kylemore, Laurencetown, Lismanny, Mount Bellew, Mounthazel, Raheen, Scregg, Shankill, Taghboy, Templetogher and Toberroe.	6
Conamara North	The electoral divisions of Abhainn Ghabhla, An Chorr, An Cnoc Buí, An Fhairche, An Ros, An Turlach, An Uillinn, Ballynakill (in the former Rural District of Clifden), Binn an Choire, Bunowen, Camas, Cill Chuimín (in the former Rural District of Oughterard), Cleggan, Clifden, Cloch na Rón, Conga, Cushkillary, Derrycunlagh, Derrylea, Doonloughan, Errislannan, Inishbofin, Leitir Breacáin, Letterfore, Maíros, Oughterard, Rinvyle, Scainimh, Sillerna and Wormhole.	4
Conamara South	The electoral divisions of An Crompán, An Spidéal, Árainn, Bearna, Cill Aithnín, Gaillimh (Tuath) Garmna, Cill Chuimín (in the former Rural District of Galway), Leitir Móir, Maigh Cuilinn, Na Forbacha, Sailearna, Sliabh an Aonaigh and Tulaigh Mhic Aodháin	5
Gort — Kinvara	The electoral divisions of Ardamullivan, Ardrahan, Ballycahalan, Ballynacourty, Beagh, Cahermore, Cappard, Castleboy, Castletaylor, Clarinbridge, Craughwell, Derrylaur, Doorus, Drumacoo, Gort, Kilbeacanty, Kilchreest, Killeely, Killeenavarra, Killinny, Killogilleen, Kiltartan, Kilthomas, Kinvarra, Rahasane and Skehanagh.	5

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Loughrea	The electoral divisions of Abbeygormacan, Abbeyville, Aille, Ballyglass, Ballynagar, Bracklagh, Bullaun, Coos, Derrew, Drumkeary, Drummin, Eyrecourt, Grange, Kilconickny, Kilconierin, Killimor (in the former Rural District of Portumna), Killoran, Kilmalinoge, Kilmeen, Kilquain, Kilreekill, Kilteskill, Kiltormer, Kiltullagh (in the former Rural District of Loughrea), Lackalea, Leitrim, Loughatorick, Loughrea Rural, Loughrea Urban, Marblehill, Meelick, Moat, Mountain, Moyode, Oatfield, Pallas, Portumna, Raford, Tiranascragh, Tynagh and Woodford.	5
Tuam	The electoral divisions of Abbey West, Addergoole, Annaghdown, Ballinderry, Ballinduff, Ballynapark, Beaghmore, Belclare, Carrownagur, Carrowrevagh, Claretuam, Clonbern, Cummer, Donaghpatrick, Doonbally, Dunmore North, Dunmore South, Foxhall, Headford, Hillsbrook, Kilbennan, Kilcoona, Killeany, Killeen, Killererin, Killower, Killursa, Kilmoylan, Kilshanvy, Levally, Milltown, Moyne, Toberadosh, Tuam Rural and Tuam Urban.	7

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Galway into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Galway County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Galway.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B33927). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.