

### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 628 of 2018

COUNTY OF MEATH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

### S.I. No. 628 of 2018

# COUNTY OF MEATH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Meath Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of Meath shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Meath County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a motorway shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such motorway.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road shall be construed as a reference to a line drawn along the centre of such road.
- (3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road or boundary intersects or joins any other road or boundary shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or, in the case of a boundary, along the boundary, would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other road, or, in the case of a boundary, along the boundary.
- 5. The County of Meath shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

- (a) The Borough District of Navan consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Navan;
- (b) The Municipal District of Ashbourne consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ashbourne;
- (c) The Municipal District of Kells consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Kells;
- (d) The Municipal District of Laytown Bettystown consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Laytown — Bettystown;
- (e) The Municipal District of Ratoath consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ratoath;
- (f) The Municipal District of Trim consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Trim.
- 6. The County of Meath Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 60 of 2014) is revoked.

# Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ashbourne	The electoral divisions of Ardmulchan, Donaghmore, Kentstown, Kilbrew, Rathfeigh, Skreen, Stamullin, Tara;	6
	those parts of the electoral division of Ardcath not contained in the local electoral area of Laytown — Bettystown;	
	and those parts of the electoral division of Ratoath to the east of a line drawn along the M2 motorway.	
Kells	The electoral divisions of An Ráth Mhór, Ardagh, Baile Átha Buí, Ballinlough, Balrathboyne, Boherboy, Burry, Carrickleck, Castlekeeran, Castletown, Ceanannas Mór Rural (part), Ceanannas Mór Urban, Crossakeel, Crosskeys, Cruicetown, Domhnach Phádraig, Drumcondra, Girley, Grennanstown, Killallon, Killeagh, Kilmainham, Kilskeer, Knocklough, Loughan, Maperath, Martry, Moybolgue, Moylagh, Moynalty, Newcastle, Newtown, Nobber, Oldcastle, Posseckstown, Rathkenny, Staholmog, Stonefield, Tailtin and Trohanny.	7
Laytown — Bettystown	The electoral divisions of Duleek, Grangegeeth, Julianstown, Killary, Mellifont, Painestown, Slane, St. Mary's (part), Stackallan; and those parts of the electoral division of Ardcath north of a line drawn as follows:  Commencing at the intersection of the boundary between the townlands of Bellewstown and Prioryland with the R152 road and then proceeding in a north-	7
	easterly direction along the R152 road to its intersection with the R150 road; then proceeding in an easterly direction along the R150 road to its intersection with the boundary between the electoral divisions of Ardcath and Duleek.	
Navan	The electoral divisions of Ardbraccan, Bective, Navan Rural and Navan Urban.	7
Ratoath	The electoral divisions of Culmullin, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin, Killeen, Kilmessan, Kilmore, Rodanstown; and those parts of the electoral division of Ratoath not contained in the local electoral area of Ashbourne.	7
Trim	The electoral divisions of Ardnamullan, Ballyboggan, Ballyconnell, Castlejordan, Castlerickard, Cill Bhride, Cloghbrack, Clonmacduff, Gallow, Galtrim, Hill of Down, Innfield, Kilcooly, Kildalkey, Killaconnigan, Killyon, Laracor, Rahinstown, Rathmolyon, Summerhill, Trim Rural and Trim Urban.	6

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

## JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Meath into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Meath County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Meath.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B33937). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.