

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 631 of 2018

COUNTY OF ROSCOMMON LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

COUNTY OF ROSCOMMON LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Roscommon Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.

2. (1) The County of Roscommon shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Roscommon County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The County of Roscommon shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

- (a) The Municipal District of Athlone consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Athlone;
- (*b*) The Municipal District of Boyle consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Boyle;
- (c) The Municipal District of Roscommon consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Roscommon.

5. The County of Roscommon Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 63 of 2014) is revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Athlone	The electoral divisions of Athleague East, Athleague West, Athlone West Rural, Ballydangan, Ballyna- mona, Caltragh, Carnagh, Carrowreagh, Castlesamp- son, Cloonburren, Cloonown, Crannagh, Creagh, Culli- agh, Drumlosh, Dunamon, Dysart, Fuerty, Kilcar, Kiltoom, Lackan, Lecarrow, Lismaha, Moore, Rockh- ill, Rosmoylan, Scregg, Taghboy, Taghmaconnell, Thomastown and Turrock.	6
Boyle	The electoral divisions of Aghafin, Altagowlan, Annaghmore, Aughrim East, Aughrim West, Ballagh- aderreen, Ballyfarnan, Ballyformoyle, Ballygarden, Bellanagare, Boyle Rural, Boyle Urban, Breedoge, Buckill, Bumlin, Cloonteen, Cloonyquin, Creeve (in the former Rural District of Boyle No. 1), Creeve (in the former Rural District of Roscommon), Cregga, Croghan, Crossna, Danesfort, Edmondstown, Elia, Elphin, Estersnow, Frenchpark, Keadew, Kilbryan, Kilcolagh, Kilglass North, Kilglass South, Killukin (in the former Rural District of Boyle No. 1), Killummod, Kilmacumsy, Kilmore, Lisgarve, Lough Allen, Mantua, Oakport, Ogulla, Rockingham, Roosky, Rossmore, Rushfield, Strokestown, Termonbarry, Tivannagh, Tulsk, Tumna North and Tumna South	6
Roscommon	The electoral divisions of Artagh North, Artagh South, Ballinlough, Ballintober, Baslick, Cams, Carrowduff, Castleplunket, Castlereagh, Castleteheen, Cloonfin- lough, Cloonfower, Cloontuskert, Cloonygormican, Coolougher, Drumdaff, Fairymount, Kilbride North, Kilbride South, Kilgefin, Killavackan, Killukin (in the former Rural District of Roscommon), Kilteevan, Kil- tullagh, Lissonuffy, Loughglinn, Mote, Roscommon Rural and Roscommon Urban.	6

Schedule

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

4 **[631]**

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Roscommon into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Roscommon County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Roscommon.

> BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€1.27

Wt. (B33940). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.