

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 634 of 2018

COUNTY OF TIPPERARY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

COUNTY OF TIPPERARY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Tipperary Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.

2. (1) The County of Tipperary shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Tipperary County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The County of Tipperary shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

- (*a*) The Borough District of Clonmel consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Clonmel;
- (b) The Municipal District of Cahir Cashel consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Cahir and the Local Electoral Area of Cashel Tipperary;
- (c) The Municipal District of Carrick-on-Suir consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Carrick-on-Suir;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

- (*d*) The Municipal District of Nenagh consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Nenagh and the Local Electoral Area of Newport;
- (e) The Municipal District of Thurles consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Thurles and the Local Electoral Area of Roscrea Templemore;

5. The County of Tipperary Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 66 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Cahir	The electoral divisions of Ardfinnan, Ballybacon, Bal- lyporeen, Burncourt, Caher, Clogheen, Coolagar- ranroe, Derrygrath, Kilcommon, Kilcoran, Killadriffe, Knockgraffon, Mortlestown, Newcastle, Tubbrid, Tul- laghmelan and Tullaghorton	4
Carrick-on-Suir	The electoral divisions of Anner, Ardsallagh, Ball- ingarry (in the former Rural District of Slieveardagh), Ballyphilip, Ballysheehan, Carrickbeg Urban, Carrick- on-Suir Rural, Carrick-on-Suir Urban, Cloneen, Coole- agh, Crohane, Drangan, Farranrory, Fethard, Garrang- ibbon, Graystown, Killenaule, Kilmurry, Kilvemnon, Magorban, Modeshil, Mullinahone, New Birmingham, Newtown, Peppardstown and Poyntstown.	5
Cashel — Tipperary	The electoral divisions of Ardmayle, Ballycarron, Bal- lygriffin, Ballykisteen, Bansha, Bruis, Cappagh, Cashel Rural, Cashel Urban, Clonbeg, Clonoulty East, Clon- oulty West, Cullen, Curraheen, Donohill, Drumwood, Emly, Glengar, Golden, Kilfeakle, Killeenasteena, Kil- mucklin, Kilpatrick, Lattin, Nodstown, Oughterleague, Rathlynin, Rodus, Shronell, Solloghodbeg, Templeneiry, Thomastown, Tipperary East Urban, Tipperary Rural and Tipperary West Urban.	7
Clonmel	The electoral divisions of Ballyclerahan, Clonmel East Urban, Clonmel Rural, Clonmel West Urban, Colman, Graigue (in the former Rural District of Cashel), Inish- lounaght, Kilcash, Killaloan, Kilsheelan, Kiltinan, Lis- ronagh and Tullamain.	6
Nenagh	The electoral divisions of Aglishcloghane, Ardcrony, Ballingarry (in the former Rural District of Borrisokane), Ballygibbon, Ballylusky, Ballymackey, Borrisokane, Carrig, Cloghjordan, Cloghprior, Clohas- kin, Finnoe, Graigue (in the former Rural District of Borrisokane), Kilbarron, Knigh, Lorrha East, Lorrha West, Mertonhall, Monsea, Nenagh East Urban, Nenagh Rural, Nenagh West Urban, Rathcabban, Red- wood, Riverstown, Terryglass and Uskane.	5
Newport	The electoral divisions of Abington, Ballina, Ballyna- clogh, Birdhill, Burgesbeg, Carrigatogher, Castletown, Derrycastle, Dolla, Foilnaman, Greenhall, Kilcomenty, Kilkeary, Killoscully, Kilmore, Kilnaneave, Kilnarath, Lackagh, Newport, Templederry and Youghalarra.	4
Roscrea — Templemore	The electoral divisions of Aghnameadle, Borrisnafar- ney, Borrisnoe, Borrisoleigh, Bourney East, Bourney West, Drom, Glenkeen, Killavinoge, Killea, Latteragh, Loughmore, Moyne, Rathnaveoge, Roscrea, Templemore, Templetouhy and Timoney.	4
Thurles	The electoral divisions of Ballycahill, Ballymurreen, Buolick, Clogher, Fennor, Gaile, Gortkelly, Holycross, Inch, Kilcooly, Kilrush, Littleton, Longfordpass, Moya- liff, Moycarky, Rahelty, Thurles Rural, Thurles Urban, Two-Mile-Borris and Upperchurch.	5

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Tipperary into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Tipperary County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Tipperary.

> BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B33943). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.