

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 637 of 2018

COUNTY OF WEXFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

COUNTY OF WEXFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Wexford Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of Wexford shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Wexford County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road, boundary or imaginary projection intersects or joins any other road, boundary or projection shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road, or, in the case of a boundary or projection, along the boundary or projection, would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other road, or, in the case of a boundary or projection, along the boundary or projection.
- 5. The County of Wexford shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

- (a) The Municipal District of Enniscorthy consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Enniscorthy;
- (b) The Municipal District of Gorey Kilmuckridge consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Gorey and the Local Electoral Area of Kilmuckridge;
- (c) The Municipal District of New Ross consisting of the Local Electoral Area of New Ross;
- (d) The Municipal District of Rosslare consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Rosslare;
- (e) The Borough District of Wexford consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Wexford.
- 6. The County of Wexford Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 69 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of
Electoral Area		Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Enniscorthy	The electoral divisions of Ballindaggan, Ballycarney, Ballyhoge, Bree, Castledockrell, Enniscorthy Rural, Enniscorthy Urban, Ferns, Kilbora, Killoughrum, Kilrush, Kiltealy, Marshalstown, Moyacomb, Newtownbarry, Rossard, St. Mary's, The Leap and Tombrack.	6
Gorey	The electoral divisions of Ardamine, Balloughter, Ballybeg, Ballyellis, Ballylarkin, Ballynestragh, Coolgreany, Courtown, Gorey Rural, Gorey Urban, Huntingtown, Kilcomb, Kilgorman, Kilnahue, Limerick, Monaseed, Rossminoge and Wingfield.	6
Rosslare	The electoral divisions of Aughwilliam, Ballymitty, Bannow, Bridgetown, Clongeen, Duncormick, Harperstown, Harristown, Kilcowan, Killag, Killinick, Kilmore, Kilscoran, Lady's Island, Mayglass, Newcastle, Rosslare, St. Helen's, Tacumshin, Taghmon and Tomhaggard;	5
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Drinagh and Rathaspick not contained in the local electoral area of Wexford.	
Kilmuckridge	The electoral divisions of Ballycanew, Ballygarrett, Ballyhuskard, Ballymore, Ballyvaldon, Bolaboy, Cahore, Castle Ellis, Castle Talbot, Edermine, Ford, Kilcormick, Killenagh, Killincooly, Kilmallock, Monamolin, The Harrow, Tinnacross and Wells.	4
New Ross	The electoral divisions of Adamstown, Ballyanne, Ballyhack, Barrack Village, Barronstown, Carnagh, Carrickbyrne, Castleboro, Clonleigh, Clonroche, Dunmain, Fethard, Horetown, Inch, Kilgarvan, Killann, Killesk, Kilmokea, New Ross Rural, New Ross Urban, Newbawn, Old Ross, Oldcourt, Rathroe, Rochestown, Rosbercon Urban, Templeludigan, Templetown, Tintern, Whitechurch (in the former Rural District of New Ross), Whitechurch (in the former Rural District of Wexford) and Whitemoor.	6
Wexford	The electoral divisions of Ardcavan, Ardcolm, Artramon, Carrick, Forth, Glynn, Kilbride, Killurin, Kilpatrick, Wexford No. 1 Urban, Wexford No. 2 Urban, Wexford No. 3 Urban, Wexford Rural;	7
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Drinagh and Rathaspick to the north of a line drawn as follows:	
	Commencing at the boundary between the electoral divisions of Rathaspick and Wexford Rural at the N25 and then proceeding in a south-easterly direction along the N25 to the roundabout at the junction of the N25 and the R730, and then proceeding along an easterly projection to the boundary between the electoral divisions of Drinagh and Rosslare.	

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Wexford into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Wexford County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Wexford.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B33946). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.