

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 638 of 2018

COUNTY OF WICKLOW LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

COUNTY OF WICKLOW LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Wicklow Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of Wicklow shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Wicklow County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Wicklow shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
 - (a) The Municipal District of Arklow consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Arklow;
 - (b) The Municipal District of Baltinglass consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Baltinglass;
 - (c) The Borough District of Bray consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Bray East and the Local Electoral Area of Bray West;
 - (d) The Municipal District of Greystones consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Greystones;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

- (e) The Municipal District of Wicklow consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Wicklow.
- 5. The County of Wicklow Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 70 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Arklow	The electoral divisions of Arklow No. 1 Urban, Arklow No. 2 Urban, Arklow Rural, Aughrim, Avoca, Ballinaclash, Ballinacor, Ballinderry, Ballyarthur, Cronebane, Dunganstown South, Dunganstown West, Ennereilly, Kilballyowen, Kilbride (in the former Rural District of Rathdrum), Kilpipe, Knockrath, and Rathdrum.	6
Baltinglass	The electoral divisions of Aghowle, Ballingate, Ballinglen, Ballinguile, Ballybeg, Baltinglass, Blessington, Burgage, Carnew, Coolattin, Coolballintaggart, Coolboy, Cronelea, Donaghmore, Donard, Dunlavin, Eadestown, Hartstown, Hollywood, Humewood, Imael North, Imael South, Kilbride (in the former Rural District of Baltinglass No.1), Killinure, Lackan, Lugglass, Money, Rath, Rathdangan, Rathsallagh, Shillelagh, Stratford, Talbotstown, The Grange, Tinahely, Tober, Togher (in the former Rural District of Baltinglass No.1) and Tuckmill.	6
Bray East	The electoral divisions of Bray No. 1 Urban, Bray No. 2 Urban, Bray No. 3 Urban and Rathmichael (Bray).	4
Bray West	The electoral divisions of Enniskerry, Kilmacanoge and Powerscourt.	4
Greystones	The electoral divisions of Delgany, Greystones, Kilcoole and Newcastle Lower.	6
Wicklow	The electoral divisions of Altidore, Ballycullen, Brockagh, Calary, Dunganstown East, Glendalough, Glenealy, Killiskey, Moneystown, Newcastle Upper, Oldtown, Togher (in the former Rural District of Rathdrum), Trooperstown, Wicklow Rural and Wicklow Urban.	6

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Wicklow into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Wicklow County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Wicklow.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54

